LGBTQ+ Flags and Identities

Thumbnail copy v2

As Pride Month celebrations continue, it is important to recognize all identities and identifiers such as flags within the LGBTQ+ community.

While at Pride events, marches and celebrations, you may notice new flags. As the community grows, new flags are made to make space and inclusion for members who identify as LGBTQ+. 

Notably, the most recognizable flag is the Gay Pride Flag. This was designed by Gilbert Baker and Lynn Segerblom in the late 1970s and debuted at the San Francisco Gay Freedom Day Parade on June 25, 1978. 

The original flag featured eight colors, all representing something different:

  • Hot pink - Sex
  • Red - Life
  • Orange - Healing
  • Yellow - Sunlight 
  • Green - Nature
  • Turquoise - Art 
  • Indigo - Serenity 
  • Violet - Spirit

Throughout history, this flag was used to represent the LGBTQ+ community all together. Individuals flags for Agender, Asexual, Bisexual, Genderfluid, Genderqueer, Intersex, Lesbian, Nonbinary, Pansexual, Transgender and more have been created to celebrate all identities, orientations and genders. 

To acknowledge and honor people of color within the community, who have fought for LGBTQ+ rights going back to Stonewall, the Philadelphia Pride Flag was created. This features a black and brown stripe on the rainbow flag. 

Continually, flags are being added and improved upon to continue promoting inclusivity for all within the community.